2014 Dr. Jean Mayer Award Recipients

Inger Andersen

Vice President, Middle East and North Africa Region, World Bank

Hanan Ashwari

Hanan Ashwari is a Palestinian legislator, activist, and scholar. She was a protégée and later colleague and close friend of Edward Said. Ashrawi was an important leader during the First Intifada, served as the official spokesperson for the Palestinian Delegation to the Middle East peace process, and has been elected numerous times to the Palestinian Legislative Council. Ashrawi is a member of Palestinian Prime Minister Salam Fayyad's Third Way party. She is the first woman elected to the Palestinian National Council.

Svetlana Broz

Svetlana Broz is a Yugoslavian author and physician who specializes in cardiology. She is the founder of "Education Towards Civil Courage", a series of seminars designed to teach adolescents from all over the Balkans how to stand up to corruption and social and political divisiveness.

Nicholas Burns

Former Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs from 2005 to 2008, he was the lead U.S. negotiator on Iran’s nuclear program; Professor of the Practice of Diplomacy and International Politics, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard

William J Burns

Deputy Secretary of State, U.S. Department of State; Career Ambassador; former Under Secretary for Political Affairs; former Assistant Secretary of State for Near Eastern Affairs; former Ambassador to Jordan

Isobel Coleman

Isobel Coleman recieved the Mayer Award on November 14, 2013.

Mohammed S Dajani Daoudi

Founder and Executive Director, Wasatiyya, Moderate Islamic Movement in Palestine; Founding Director, American Studies Institute, Al Quds University

Amb Robert Ford

US Ambassador to Syria (January 2011 to February 2014)

International Crisis Group

The International Crisis Group (ICG) is a conflict-prevention non-profit, non-governmental organization that carries out field research on violent conflict and advances policies to prevent, mitigate or resolve conflict. It advocates policies directly with governments, multilateral organisations and other political actors as well as the media.

Just Vision

This award was accepted on behalf of Just Vision by Suhad Babaa.

Just Vision highlights the power and potential of Palestinians and Israelis working to end the occupation and build a future of freedom, dignity, equality and human security using nonviolent means. They tell their under-documented stories through award-winning films, multimedia tools and targeted public education campaigns that undermine stereotypes, inspire commitment and galvanize action.

Bernardino León

Special Representative for the Southern Mediterranean Region, European Union; former Secretary-General and Foreign Policy Adviser, Office of the Prime Minister, Spain

Augustus Richard Norton

Professor of International Relations and Anthropology, Boston University; Author, Civil Society in the Middle East

Curt Rhodes

Founder and International Director, Questscope; Social Entrepreneur of the Year for the Middle East and North Africa, Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship

Scholars at Risk

This award was accepts on behalf of SAR by Denise LiGreci.

Scholars at Risk (SAR) is a U.S.-based international network of academic institutions organized to support and defend the principles of academic freedom and to defend the human rights of scholars around the world.

Tamara Wittes

Senior Fellow and Director, Saban Center for Middle East Policy, Brookings Institution; Former Deputy Assistant Secretary for Near Eastern Affairs, US Department of State